ElderGrade Check a home before you move a parent in Compare
Nursing homes Best graded Watchlist Home health Hospice Costs Medicaid Guides How we grade Ownership Compare homes
C

64.5/100

Average

St Johns Place

3333 Brown Road, Saint Louis, MO 63114

CMS 1/5 stars #31 of 69 in St. Louis County (314) 426-2211
Certified beds
94
Occupancy
61%
Ownership
For-profit
Accepts
Medicare + Medicaid

Our read on St Johns Place

St. Johns Place is a 94-bed for-profit home in St. Louis County with a recent inspection on record from December 2025, so the findings are current. That inspection record carries 36 deficiencies, one of them abuse-related, though none rose to the level of immediate harm or jeopardy. Staffing is where the numbers get harder to explain away: the federal staffing rating sits at 1 out of 5, and the quality measure rating is also 1 out of 5, against a national average that most homes at least approach. Health inspections came in slightly better at 2 stars, but a low mark across all three categories at once is the pattern worth paying attention to.

Written from the CMS figures for this home shown further down this page. Nothing here is paid for or supplied by the home.

How this grade was calculated

Every point is shown. Nothing is weighted behind the scenes, the full formula is on How we grade.

Inspection30/30Staffing15/30Stability7.5/15Outcomes2/15Enforcement10/10

A full pentagon is full marks. The shape shows what kind of good or bad a home is, two homes can share a score and look nothing alike.

Inspection safety

30/30

Citations from state health inspections over the last three surveys, weighted by how much harm CMS says they caused.

  • →No citations recorded in the last 3 years

Staffing

15/30

Nursing hours per resident per day, adjusted for how sick the residents are.

  • →No staffing hours reported, scored neutral

Staff stability

7.5/15

How much of the nursing team leaves in a year. High turnover means a resident rarely sees the same face twice.

  • →No turnover figure reported, scored neutral

Resident outcomes

2/15

The CMS quality-measure rating, built from resident outcomes like falls, pressure ulcers, infections and antipsychotic use.

  • →1 of 5 stars on the CMS quality-measure rating

Enforcement history

10/10

Fines and payment denials CMS has imposed. A denial of payment means CMS stopped paying for new admissions.

  • →No federal fines on record

Staffing, against the national average

Full detail

Hours of nursing care each resident receives per day. The marker on each bar is the national average.

Total nurse hours per resident per dayNot reported
Registered nurse (RN) hoursNot reported

RNs are the licence level most likely to catch a resident deteriorating.

Weekend nurse hoursNot reported

The shift most families visit, and the one thinned first.

Nursing staff turnoverNot reported

The share of nursing staff who left over the last year.

Recent inspection findings

Last standard health inspection: December 9, 2025 (10 months ago). No citations were recorded.

No health-inspection citations on record for this facility in the current CMS release.

What families say

Write a review

No family reviews yet for St Johns Place. If you or a relative have experience of this home, other families would find it useful.

Be the first to review

Every review is confirmed by email and read by a moderator before it appears. We remove reviews written by or for a facility. If something is wrong right now, report a concern , that routes you to your state ombudsman, who can actually intervene.

Common questions about St Johns Place

What is the ElderGrade for St Johns Place? +

St Johns Place holds an ElderGrade of C (64.5 out of 100), which we describe as "average". The grade combines its inspection citations, nurse staffing levels, staff turnover, resident outcomes and enforcement history from the federal CMS record.

How many nursing hours does each resident get at St Johns Place? +

This facility has not reported staffing hours to CMS in the current data release.

Has St Johns Place been cited for harming residents? +

No. None of the 0 citations on record were scored at the levels CMS uses to indicate actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

Does St Johns Place accept Medicaid? +

Yes, St Johns Place is certified to accept Medicaid, which is the programme that pays for long-term custodial care once a resident meets their state's income and asset limits.