ElderGrade Check a home before you move a parent in Compare
Nursing homes Best graded Watchlist Home health Hospice Costs Medicaid Guides How we grade Ownership Compare homes
C

66.5/100

Average

Salem Memorial District Hospital

35629 Highway 72, Salem, MO 65560

CMS 3/5 stars #1 of 3 in Dent County (573) 729-6626
Certified beds
18
Occupancy
84%
Ownership
Non-profit
Accepts
Medicaid

What to ask about before you visit

These are findings in the public CMS record for this home. They are not our opinion, each one comes straight from a federal inspection or enforcement file.

  • $83,898 in federal fines

    CMS has fined this facility across 10 penalty action(s).

Our read on Salem Memorial District Hospital

Salem Memorial District Hospital runs a small 18-bed unit, and its recent inspection record is genuinely solid, four stars on health inspections, no deficiencies at the harm level, nothing abuse-related, and a survey as recent as October 2025. The problem sits in staffing, which CMS rates at just one star. That's a meaningful gap: a home can pass inspections and still leave residents waiting too long for help with meals, toileting, or medication. The 12 deficiencies and 13 fines totaling $106,623 also suggest recurring compliance issues despite the decent inspection score, and nonprofit ownership doesn't change the math. Ask about actual direct-care hours per resident per day, and how often the unit relies on agency or on-call staff.

Written from the CMS figures for this home shown further down this page. Nothing here is paid for or supplied by the home.

How this grade was calculated

Every point is shown. Nothing is weighted behind the scenes, the full formula is on How we grade.

Inspection30/30Staffing15/30Stability7.5/15Outcomes12/15Enforcement2/10

A full pentagon is full marks. The shape shows what kind of good or bad a home is, two homes can share a score and look nothing alike.

Inspection safety

30/30

Citations from state health inspections over the last three surveys, weighted by how much harm CMS says they caused.

  • →No citations recorded in the last 3 years

Staffing

15/30

Nursing hours per resident per day, adjusted for how sick the residents are.

  • →No staffing hours reported, scored neutral

Staff stability

7.5/15

How much of the nursing team leaves in a year. High turnover means a resident rarely sees the same face twice.

  • →No turnover figure reported, scored neutral

Resident outcomes

12/15

The CMS quality-measure rating, built from resident outcomes like falls, pressure ulcers, infections and antipsychotic use.

  • →4 of 5 stars on the CMS quality-measure rating

Enforcement history

2/10

Fines and payment denials CMS has imposed. A denial of payment means CMS stopped paying for new admissions.

  • →$83,898 in federal fines across 10 action(s)

Staffing, against the national average

Full detail

Hours of nursing care each resident receives per day. The marker on each bar is the national average.

Total nurse hours per resident per dayNot reported
Registered nurse (RN) hoursNot reported

RNs are the licence level most likely to catch a resident deteriorating.

Weekend nurse hoursNot reported

The shift most families visit, and the one thinned first.

Nursing staff turnoverNot reported

The share of nursing staff who left over the last year.

Recent inspection findings

Last standard health inspection: October 16, 2025 (1 year ago). No citations were recorded.

No health-inspection citations on record for this facility in the current CMS release.

What families say

Write a review

No family reviews yet for Salem Memorial District Hospital. If you or a relative have experience of this home, other families would find it useful.

Be the first to review

Every review is confirmed by email and read by a moderator before it appears. We remove reviews written by or for a facility. If something is wrong right now, report a concern , that routes you to your state ombudsman, who can actually intervene.

Common questions about Salem Memorial District Hospital

What is the ElderGrade for Salem Memorial District Hospital? +

Salem Memorial District Hospital holds an ElderGrade of C (66.5 out of 100), which we describe as "average". The grade combines its inspection citations, nurse staffing levels, staff turnover, resident outcomes and enforcement history from the federal CMS record.

How many nursing hours does each resident get at Salem Memorial District Hospital? +

This facility has not reported staffing hours to CMS in the current data release.

Has Salem Memorial District Hospital been cited for harming residents? +

No. None of the 0 citations on record were scored at the levels CMS uses to indicate actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

Does Salem Memorial District Hospital accept Medicaid? +

Yes, Salem Memorial District Hospital is certified to accept Medicaid, which is the programme that pays for long-term custodial care once a resident meets their state's income and asset limits.