ElderGrade Check a home before you move a parent in Compare
Nursing homes Best graded Watchlist Home health Hospice Costs Medicaid Guides How we grade Ownership Compare homes
C

67.5/100

Average

Caring House

510 South Ocotillo Road, Sacaton, AZ 85147

CMS 2/5 stars #2 of 3 in Pinal County (520) 562-7400
Certified beds
100
Occupancy
81%
Ownership
Government
Accepts
Medicare + Medicaid

What to ask about before you visit

These are findings in the public CMS record for this home. They are not our opinion, each one comes straight from a federal inspection or enforcement file.

  • $28,695 in federal fines

    CMS has fined this facility across 2 penalty action(s).

Our read on Caring House

Caring House is federally run, which puts it in a small category of nursing homes, and its record reflects that mixed reality. The most recent inspection, in July 2025, turned up sixteen deficiencies, including one that caused actual harm and one tied to abuse, that combination matters more than the overall count, because those are the findings surveyors flag as serious. Two fines totaling $28,695 followed. The quality measure rating of four stars suggests residents' clinical outcomes look decent on paper, but the two-star health inspection rating tells you the physical care environment and safety practices are where the trouble sits. If you're considering this home, ask directly what changed after that July inspection.

Written from the CMS figures for this home shown further down this page. Nothing here is paid for or supplied by the home.

How this grade was calculated

Every point is shown. Nothing is weighted behind the scenes, the full formula is on How we grade.

Inspection30/30Staffing15/30Stability7.5/15Outcomes12/15Enforcement3/10

A full pentagon is full marks. The shape shows what kind of good or bad a home is, two homes can share a score and look nothing alike.

Inspection safety

30/30

Citations from state health inspections over the last three surveys, weighted by how much harm CMS says they caused.

  • →No citations recorded in the last 3 years

Staffing

15/30

Nursing hours per resident per day, adjusted for how sick the residents are.

  • →No staffing hours reported, scored neutral

Staff stability

7.5/15

How much of the nursing team leaves in a year. High turnover means a resident rarely sees the same face twice.

  • →No turnover figure reported, scored neutral

Resident outcomes

12/15

The CMS quality-measure rating, built from resident outcomes like falls, pressure ulcers, infections and antipsychotic use.

  • →4 of 5 stars on the CMS quality-measure rating

Enforcement history

3/10

Fines and payment denials CMS has imposed. A denial of payment means CMS stopped paying for new admissions.

  • →$28,695 in federal fines across 2 action(s)
  • →-2 for 1 denial(s) of Medicare payment for new admissions

Staffing, against the national average

Full detail

Hours of nursing care each resident receives per day. The marker on each bar is the national average.

Total nurse hours per resident per dayNot reported
Registered nurse (RN) hoursNot reported

RNs are the licence level most likely to catch a resident deteriorating.

Weekend nurse hoursNot reported

The shift most families visit, and the one thinned first.

Nursing staff turnoverNot reported

The share of nursing staff who left over the last year.

Recent inspection findings

Last standard health inspection: July 25, 2025 (1 year ago). No citations were recorded.

No health-inspection citations on record for this facility in the current CMS release.

What families say

Write a review

No family reviews yet for Caring House. If you or a relative have experience of this home, other families would find it useful.

Be the first to review

Every review is confirmed by email and read by a moderator before it appears. We remove reviews written by or for a facility. If something is wrong right now, report a concern , that routes you to your state ombudsman, who can actually intervene.

Common questions about Caring House

What is the ElderGrade for Caring House? +

Caring House holds an ElderGrade of C (67.5 out of 100), which we describe as "average". The grade combines its inspection citations, nurse staffing levels, staff turnover, resident outcomes and enforcement history from the federal CMS record.

How many nursing hours does each resident get at Caring House? +

This facility has not reported staffing hours to CMS in the current data release.

Has Caring House been cited for harming residents? +

No. None of the 0 citations on record were scored at the levels CMS uses to indicate actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

Does Caring House accept Medicaid? +

Yes, Caring House is certified to accept Medicaid, which is the programme that pays for long-term custodial care once a resident meets their state's income and asset limits.