ElderGrade Check a home before you move a parent in Compare
Nursing homes Best graded Watchlist Home health Hospice Costs Medicaid Guides How we grade Ownership Compare homes
B

71.5/100

Above average

Bradbury Commons

1601 Academy Road, Ponca City, OK 74604

CMS 4/5 stars #3 of 4 in Kay County (580) 370-7132
Certified beds
68
Occupancy
96%
Ownership
Non-profit
Accepts
Medicare + Medicaid

What to ask about before you visit

These are findings in the public CMS record for this home. They are not our opinion, each one comes straight from a federal inspection or enforcement file.

  • Last inspection was more than 2 years ago

    Ratings here are based on older survey data than at most facilities.

Our read on Bradbury Commons

Bradbury Commons sits in Ponca City with 68 certified beds, run by a nonprofit corporation. Inspectors gave it top marks on health inspections, and the record shows no abuse deficiencies. But staffing is where the picture darkens, the federal staffing rating bottoms out at 1 out of 5, meaning nurse and aide hours fall well below what CMS expects. Seven deficiencies appear on the current record, one serious enough to reach harm or jeopardy level. The last inspection was July 2024, so the findings are recent. Strong survey results and a thin caregiving workforce can coexist, and that tension is worth weighing before you decide.

Written from the CMS figures for this home shown further down this page. Nothing here is paid for or supplied by the home.

How this grade was calculated

Every point is shown. Nothing is weighted behind the scenes, the full formula is on How we grade.

Inspection30/30Staffing15/30Stability7.5/15Outcomes9/15Enforcement10/10

A full pentagon is full marks. The shape shows what kind of good or bad a home is, two homes can share a score and look nothing alike.

Inspection safety

30/30

Citations from state health inspections over the last three surveys, weighted by how much harm CMS says they caused.

  • →No citations recorded in the last 3 years

Staffing

15/30

Nursing hours per resident per day, adjusted for how sick the residents are.

  • →No staffing hours reported, scored neutral

Staff stability

7.5/15

How much of the nursing team leaves in a year. High turnover means a resident rarely sees the same face twice.

  • →No turnover figure reported, scored neutral

Resident outcomes

9/15

The CMS quality-measure rating, built from resident outcomes like falls, pressure ulcers, infections and antipsychotic use.

  • →3 of 5 stars on the CMS quality-measure rating

Enforcement history

10/10

Fines and payment denials CMS has imposed. A denial of payment means CMS stopped paying for new admissions.

  • →No federal fines on record

Staffing, against the national average

Full detail

Hours of nursing care each resident receives per day. The marker on each bar is the national average.

Total nurse hours per resident per dayNot reported
Registered nurse (RN) hoursNot reported

RNs are the licence level most likely to catch a resident deteriorating.

Weekend nurse hoursNot reported

The shift most families visit, and the one thinned first.

Nursing staff turnoverNot reported

The share of nursing staff who left over the last year.

Recent inspection findings

Last standard health inspection: July 3, 2024 (2 years ago). No citations were recorded.

No health-inspection citations on record for this facility in the current CMS release.

What families say

Write a review

No family reviews yet for Bradbury Commons. If you or a relative have experience of this home, other families would find it useful.

Be the first to review

Every review is confirmed by email and read by a moderator before it appears. We remove reviews written by or for a facility. If something is wrong right now, report a concern , that routes you to your state ombudsman, who can actually intervene.

Common questions about Bradbury Commons

What is the ElderGrade for Bradbury Commons? +

Bradbury Commons holds an ElderGrade of B (71.5 out of 100), which we describe as "above average". The grade combines its inspection citations, nurse staffing levels, staff turnover, resident outcomes and enforcement history from the federal CMS record.

How many nursing hours does each resident get at Bradbury Commons? +

This facility has not reported staffing hours to CMS in the current data release.

Has Bradbury Commons been cited for harming residents? +

No. None of the 0 citations on record were scored at the levels CMS uses to indicate actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

Does Bradbury Commons accept Medicaid? +

Yes, Bradbury Commons is certified to accept Medicaid, which is the programme that pays for long-term custodial care once a resident meets their state's income and asset limits.